x_losfic: (Eight)
[personal profile] x_losfic


Sword of Orion

Sword of Orion's not bad, really, but no, not a whirlwind of joy either. Though most Cybermen stories bore me, so I was pleased that this one didn't. Possibly that's a result of their v. v. little screen-time in this.

Quick liked/disliked rundown before the major issues: I like the alien bazaar in the beginning, good sound editing. Extras all fine. Eight a bit of an ass for leaving Charley to deal with the bazaar!creepster alone. Who told the Sword of Orion team that that super Red-Dwarf sounding 'spaceship!!' music cue was a good idea? I like the Cybermat. The creepy claustrophobia angle kiiind of works, but could have been amped, esp. as Cyber-control and the background of conflict with human-appearing androids must add a new dimension of ‘is he or isn’t he’ paranoia.

Keep in mind as I explain why Charley is so inoffensive as to be deeply offensive (an attitude now culled from being halfway through Minuet in Hell) that I listened to Zagreus first. Would I have disliked her this much if I hadn’t been told that she’s special above and beyond other companions, that the Doctor loves her kind of in that way, and then seen no reason why he should? Maybe I’d only find her annoying. I mean, I think the River Song thing is a poor rip off of The Time Traveler’s Wife and vile independent of that, but if I'd been just told she was Some Extra, I probably would have paid enough attention to dislike her deeply. Both, for full disclosure, are at least partially annoying for fucking with my OTP.

I /hate/ Charlie's attitude towards the androids-- the immediate "oh, I accept their rights and prerogatives." She comes from a DEEPLY racist, tense period. Without a lot of character building to the effect that Charley has deeply felt personal convictions towards universal equality that are not only exemplary for her period but absolutely transcendent, I'm not going to believe that. She’s an otherwise pretty unquestioningly rah-rah denizen of the British Empire (as of last episode, with her Edwardian Adventuress schtick—and who refers to herself as ‘an Edwardian’ during that period, by the by?). Not a lot of evidenced angst about racial or sociopolitical issues, her prerogatives and place in the world. And this is an empire which doesn't really acknowledge all humans as endowed with equal status. Why should she immediately grasp the rights of non-human androids, and be willing to speak to that?

And wouldn’t it be more interesting if she didn’t? If the Doctor’s going to pick up companions from various periods, for veracity and interest they should reflect the prejudices and passions of their period. Wodehouse ‘black shorts’ jokes aside, 30’s Britain was flirting with fascism. It’s unlikely that a product of that climate isn’t going to be /at all/ affected by it.

She has nothing dynamic about her. She's ahistorical. I love the way that other than a few ‘thingys’ tossed in as an afterthought, nothing about the concept of time-space travel phases her: she’s down with 'androids', when the Czech neologism ‘robot’ has yet to probably enter her vocabulary, unless she’s hugely into period science fiction—and aside from a mention of Verne, no evidence of that. Charley’s bland in her perfection.

She has no growth to accomplish. Likewise, Charley seems to have no real age. I mean she’s 18? She has none of the natural issues of being young. Charley’s too chummy with Eight in Sword of Orion for having just met him--too 'he's always doing that' a la River Song. It’s unearned.

A symptom of the larger problem: Charley’s too Mary Sue!sassy. Banter-y without a real scene or character MO. And while it’s fun because Eight is fun, the banter’s like tasty icing on a really poorly made cake. I can't enjoy it because there’s no substance, it's just frosting. At first it's appealing, and then I bite down and eugh, Charley.

Deeva Jansen, who’s left shut-down from the cold to float around the void on the off-chance that someone will eventually salvage her, isn’t morally dead. Why doesn’t Eight search for her? Unless the explosion was of such force that Deeva might be anywhere in a huge radius, she’s near enough that they can troll around with the sensors on, pick her up, and drop her off back home. I have no idea what she might have done to deserve abandonment. In the end she deleted the information the Doctor asked her to and saved Charley: the Doctor owes her a ride. The fact that she’s just abandoned is rather cheap and inexplicable.

Deeva also parallels Rathbone or Lord Tamworth from Storm Warning in terms of a character who changed, or appeared to change, for the better with little motivation or foreshadowing, simply because the Doctor asked them to. Eight, like Nine, seems to be big on enabling other people to be heroic, but it keeps kind of backfiring on him. Rathbone backslides, Deeva gets killed. I’m wondering if there’s an emerging point about Eight and agency here, given that he’s fucked himself over by miscalculating and saving Charley initially.

In terms of effectiveness, rather a poor show for the Doctor. Bad a la Warriors of the Deep, in which everyone but the Doctor and his companions also dies. Did he and Charley’s presence have any real benefit? The end result—the ion storm, the disabled human ship, the refusal of Deeva’s proposition, the deaths of both crews–would have come along without the Doctor even showing up. There’s something immensely frustrating about a story in which the TARDIS crew’s role is just that of spectators. It logically must happen, but it’s not stage-worthy.

The emotional dynamics aren’t even changed by the Doctor and Charley’s presence to a sufficient degree so that I can say that they advance a more subtle plot. Deeva, the one character arguably changed by their intervention, still would have come to the same conclusions about the dangers of enlisting the Cybermen due to personal observation. She would still have made the offer of collaboration despite these qualms—she does even with the Doctor agitating against it. The fact that she chooses to enter a coma with the possibility of eventual rescue over dooming Charley to death in the Ion storm is the one real moment of dramatic interest, but we haven’t been given enough about Deeva to know that this is an act of overcoming some situationally-implied racist antipathy towards humans on her part, or that it’s much more than a logical exchange. ‘One saved life and the possibility of a second’ is greater than ‘one saved life.’

And then her possible selflessness is rewarded by Eight getting bored and wandering off instead of conducting a thorough search for her. So while it’s not a badly constructed episode, and was enjoyable to listen to, the whole underlying premise is rather a massive ‘er, what?’

Date: 2008-10-11 09:23 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] bagheera-san.livejournal.com
I feel very much the same about Charley, but I'm a bit wary of my own judgement in this case, because, I immediately liked Charley better once she wanted to leave Eight and got paired with Six. (Side note: her dynamic with Six is, of course, also kind of Time Traveller's Wife) This makes me think that perhaps I do only dislike Charley because of the romantic implications with the Doctor. I'm just OTP enough not to like the Doctor in a serious relationship with any companion. Charley, just like Rose, is just so sure of herself, believing that they're meant to be. If such a storyline needs to be done, then I want it to show, eventually, that the Doctor doesn't love his human companions in the same way. At least the vibe I got off River Song was that they had fun and adventures together and got emotionally very close - he was the man of her life, probably, but she seems to accept that the Doctor's life is much, much longer, and that it's not "happily ever after" for him.

But word on her not being a very well-realised historical character. She's a rich little girl, but she could be from any period.

Date: 2008-10-11 09:42 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] x-losfic.livejournal.com
I don't know--does her dynamic change substantially with Six? You'd think it'd all get a bit more shouty, and that sounds less eyeroll-provoking than Charley the Entitled Wunderkind.

Also, her hooking up with Six makes Eight either a GREAT actor in Storm Warning, or is a weird continuity-lacunae. Unless Eight's lost his memory...again.

While there's a certain confidence in the 'little rich girl' thing, the sure-of-herself invulnerability seems unrealistic in her character: a young girl thrown into an entirely strange environment romantically attached to a FAR older alien with a lot of power over her due to their situation and his apparent greater intelligence. Doesn't that lead kind of inexorably to some questioning of a 'we are meant to be!!' entitlement?

I would have liked to get that vibe off River Song, but I didn't see much more than 'Yep, I know his seekrit name--also, in the future? The whole Jesus-Doctor thing? Amped. Armies tremble, y'all. Also I'm going to bitch about him being not a valid presentation of himself yet, despite that it's a shit thing to say of someone, esp. someone you care for, and despite that it's a crap assessment of the Doctor, that any form of him isn't just that: a fully realized Doctor-of-the-moment.' That comment was a really 'eugh, way to not get it' moment for me, and precluded her character really understanding much about the nature of his life span.

Date: 2008-10-13 09:07 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] neutralalienist.livejournal.com
It's been...a long time since I listened to Sword of Orion, but I remember getting the same general impressions.

For a long time I was just...'meh' about Charley. Then Chimes of Midnight happened, and she got some actual layers and flaws and stuff.

She really wasn't enough a product of her times at all, though, which does seem to...miss the point. With, say, Erimem, it's very clear that her culture affects her, and her attitudes, and we can see it if she questions them. Charley could be a rich girl in this era with some filing.

Basically, I think it started off with the writers too in love with her, and that faded as time went on and she became a more realistic character, but the early blunders still remain, and are irritating.

Have you listened to Scherzo?

Date: 2008-10-14 08:19 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] x-los.livejournal.com
I really did love Chimes of Midnight. And I'm looking forward to running through the five audios avec Erimen after the Eights. And they maybe the Six's, as people assure me Six/Evelyn (AS COMPANIONS NOT LIKE THAT) is Relevant To My Interests.

I can see the writers starting too enamored of the whole idea of her, but she's too substance-less to love, really. I mean there's not a whole lot of Charley for me to sink my teeth into.

I'm at Neverland, re-istening to Zagreus tomorrow, and probably half of Scherzo, fingers crossed/if my ipod doesn't give out.

Profile

x_losfic: (Default)
x_losfic

January 2013

S M T W T F S
   1 2345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 23rd, 2026 03:12 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios